Skip to main content

Nigeria Media Nite-Out Governing Board, Approves Hosting of 17th Award Edition


The Nigeria Media Nite-Out Governing Board, has approved the hosting of this year's award edition in Lagos, Nigeria.

Popularly known as the Nigeria Media Nite-Out Award, NMNA, this year's award ceremony, will be the 17th edition, since inception in 2006.

With the approval received from the Chairman of the Governing Board, the Convener of the award, Mr Sola Olugbemiro, said that, all hands will be on deck beginning next week,  to ensure that the hosting of this year's award in October, supercedes the grandeur of year's that has passed by.

"Nigeria Media Nite Out Award, NMNA, has always remained special in our hearts because, it is the only worthy prize and recognition that journalists in Nigeria pride as a reward for their various contribution to the development of our great country Nigeria. 

"NMNA has over the years, remained, an all embracing event for media practitioners, which debuted almost about two decades ago, to recognize excellence and achievements by media practitioners (print, electronic/social media). The event also gives opportunity to recognise distinctions among corporate organisations, government organisations and individuals who have one way or another, supported the media, or upheld unique values in the society," said Sola Olugbemiro.

The theme for this year's edition according to the Chairman, Planning Committee, Mr. Ben Okoruyi, is: "Moving Nigeria From A Borrower Nation To A Producing Nation."

Expectedly, NMNA 2023, the 17th edition which will take place in October this year at the prestigious Airport Hotel, Ikeja, will have in attendance, just as usual, top government functionaries, state governors, members of the diplomatic corps, the media and other society's stakeholders.

The Punch newspaper, is currently holding the Newspaper of the Year award, which was clinched last year at the 16th edition, after defeating Vanguard, The Nation and Thisday newspapers. Will Punch newspaper get it again this year? Will ARISE TV win TV Station Of The Year Award again this year? Questions and more questions!

In recent past, top Journalists, Dr. Reuben Abati has won The Analyst Of The Year Award, The Punch newspaper, Sunday Aborisade, has won the Politics Editor of the Year award, Wole Shadare of the Daily Telegraph, has twice won The Aviation Reporter Award, Bond FM won the Radio Station of the Year Award last year, while Toke Makinwa, was named the On-Air Personality of the Year. Rufai Oseni of Arise TV emerged as the OAP of the Year. Kazeem Salau of Vanguard newspaper has won Photo Editor of the Year Award, and Paul Ukpabio of the Nation newspaper, has also won Society Editor Award in the past, just to mention a few.

"I can assure you, this year's award ceremony, will be a grand memorable one," Sola Olugbemiro added.


Popular posts from this blog


Femi Fani Kayode’s visit to Zamfara state and the conferment of a chieftancy title on him, by the Shinkafi Emirate may have generated a lot of negative reaction and resistance from some sections of the north, but Saka has called on the north to see the opportunity, as a golden opportunity to preach peaceful coexistence among Nigerians along religious and ethnic divide. Saka who poured his mind to newsmen in Gusau the Zamfara state capital, said, “I cannot and will not hold brief for Femi Fani Kayode and I cannot begrudge anyone for demonstrating his or her rejection of such move, I think we should jump at this golden opportunity. “Zamfara is still perceived in such bad light beyond the northern region since the state got into spotlight when democratic rule was restored in 1999 with its introduction of Sharia Law. Many do this without setting a foot on Zamfara. Many other northern States joined the train and created a huge chasm among Nigerians. This many believe is responsible f

Corporate Affairs Director of Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mrs. Sade Morgan, Wins NMNA Award

The Corporate Affairs Director of Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mrs. Sade Morgan, has won the Nigeria Media Nite-out Award, NMNA Award as the Most Vibrant Private Sector Spokesperson of the year. Mrs. Sade Morgan who has just joined the executive committee of Nigerian Breweries has been strengthening the company’s non-crisis stakeholder relations and drive a strategy led relationship with government, regulatory organizations, host communities, the media and non-governmental organizations to reinforce the company’s philosophy of Winning with Nigeria. So also, the Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje OFR, the Honorable Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management; Hajia Sadia Farouk and the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management has won awards at different categories at this year’s edition of Nigeria Media Nite-out Award , NMNA. Governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje OFR, won the award of Excellence and Accomplishment as the Governor of The Year (Humanitarian And